Jedi Marri

Just ME, as I Am.

Those Random People… 2 June 20, 2008

Filed under: Life As It Is — jedimarri @ 8:17 am
Tags: , ,

Over the last 6 months or so I’ve been battling an on-going battle with asthma.  As I’ve done so, I’ve gotten a chance to make more random friendships, with the type of people you usually don’t get to know very well.  Take your local pharmacist as a case in point.  Most people only see the pharmacist on occasion, when their really sick, and while they may be able to recognize them, they don’t know them at all.  Then there’s the people who regularly gets a prescription refilled.  They’re in there once a month.  They may have had a few conversations with the pharmacist, but again, they don’t really know them at all.

I love my pharmacy ladies.

As I’ve dealt with all these health problems I’ve “gotten” to try a bunch of different medicines.  There were times that I was in the pharmacy with a new prescription every 2 or 3 days!  As a result I’ve spent a lot of time talking to my pharmacy ladies.  And I love them.

There are 5 people that I’ve seen working in the pharmacy.  Two of them have never really talked to me, so I don’t really know anything about them.  One of them is a guy, so I suppose he must fall into the category of guys who just don’t talk much.  He has been known to listen to me chat with the ladies and laugh at our antics though!

Out of the three ladies I see all the time there are two that I know the best. The third isn’t as talkative, but she always gives me a huge smile.  For some reason I haven’t been able to learn her name, so I think of her as Pharmacy lady #3.

Then there’s Dawn.  Dawn was the first of the ladies that I made friends with.  She is one of the sweetest gals in the world!  She learned my name early on in this whole ordeal, and always greats me with a smile and a, “How’s it going today Ruthie?”  She has a fantastic smile.  She’s listened through this whole ordeal, always curious about what they were trying, and looking like she’d give me a hug if she could reach me over the counter.  She’s even been known to snag coupons for me and stick them in her purse until she saw me!  I nearly cried the day she did that.

Dawn recently had foot surgery and now I get to ask her how she’s doing.  It’s kinda fun change, but I wouldn’t have wished the surgery on her!  Last time I saw her (earlier this week) she had dyed her hair a darker shade of brown.  I think it looked good, but she thought it was a bit too dark. She flashed me a grin and grabbed a frosting kit and proceeded to tell me that all the ladies were going to have a hair dying party!  They were all giggling like school girls about it.  I couldn’t help but laugh along.

I thought it was pretty awesome that the other pharmacy lady was going to go along with the hair dying scheme.  See, while she has a slightly timeless look about her, I’d guess she has at least 10-15 years on the other ladies.  Of course, with a name like hers, who wouldn’t be up for crazy stunts?  Her name is Tuesday.

Tuesday is one of the actual pharmacists, the other ladies are the pharmacy techs.  She’s always quick to make sure I’m handling everything ok with my meds and to offer me suggestions if I need them.  Like Dawn, she notices if it’s been awhile since I’ve been in for more drugs, and she’ll ask if I’m doing better.  It’s exciting when I can tell her I am!

Dawn and Tuesday were so sweet when I started the xolair shots.  They both winced when I told them that was the latest thing the doc’s were trying and wanted to know how it went!

I’ve considered my pharmacy ladies like my aunt’s here in Ellensburg.  They check up on me whenever they see me, they do truly care, and I always feel better after I’ve gotten to chat with them.  They’ve lifted my spirits during a black period of my life and for that I will always be grateful.

 

Leave a Reply

